Wright named first CW rugby Hall of Famer

Wright named first CW rugby Hall of Famer

Former Alberta head coach honoured for trailblazing career

EDMONTON – In five seasons at the helm of the Alberta Pandas between 1999 and 2003, no one was better than Helen Wright.

The former Pandas rugby coach was inducted into the Canada West Hall of Fame on Tuesday, as her outstanding record and commitment to the game of rugby were acknowledged. She is the first inductee in the sport of rugby, as the conference continues to honour 100 inductees over the course of the 2019-20 season.

Wright led the Pandas during their first five seasons of competition, winning conference and national gold every season. She was also awarded the Canada West Coach of the Year award every season.

A pioneer in establishing women’s rugby as a provincial, national and international sport, Wright defied stereotypes in a sport that had previously been dominated by men. Her hard work helped grow the game of rugby both locally and nationally.

To read more about her outstanding contributions to CW rugby and the sport in general, read her full Hall of Fame bio here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 

VISIT: CanadaWestHallofFame.org

About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.