Winnipeg's win machine welcomed to Hall of Fame

Winnipeg's win machine welcomed to Hall of Fame

Wesmen women's basketball team won 88 consecutive games

EDMONTON – From 1992 to 1995, the University of Winnipeg’s women’s basketball team went on a remarkable run, winning three consecutive national titles while going on an unparalleled winning streak.

The dynasty Wesmen entered the Canada West Hall of Fame Wednesday, becoming the third Winnipeg team inducted along with the 1970-74 men's volleyball squads, and the 1982-88 women's volleyball teams.

Under the direction of coach Tom Kendall, Winnipeg won 88 consecutive games, which stands as the longest streak in Canadian university basketball history.

Winnipeg went well over two calendar years without a loss, with the team’s streak beginning Oct. 24, 1992 and stretching until Dec. 2, 1994.

At the 1993 CIAU national tournament, Winnipeg defeated Victoria in the gold medal game to win the first national title in program history. The Wesmen then defeated Toronto in the 1994 national final, before capping off their run with a win over Manitoba in 1995 for CIAU gold.

To read more about the Wesmen dynasty, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.