Winnipeg's 1980s dynasty inducted

Winnipeg's 1980s dynasty inducted

Wesmen WVB squads won six consecutive national titles

EDMONTON - One of the most dominant stretches in Canadian university history was acknowledged Tuesday, as the 1982 to 1988 Winnipeg Wesmen women's volleyball teams were inducted into the Canada West Hall of Fame in the team category.

Winnipeg won six consecutive national titles (1983-1988) during the 80s, as they were powered by outstanding individual performances from a host of players that would go on to play for the Canadian senior national team.

A Wesmen player was named CIAU Player of the Year each season during Winnipeg's run of national domination.

As with any dynasty, the Wesmen enjoyed several stretches of being completely unbeatable, most notably from January 1987 to January 1989, when the team won 123 straight games.

That stretch included a perfect 58-0 overall record during the 1987-88 season, during which Winnipeg beat teams from around the globe, including the Canadian national team, and the eventual 1988 NCAA champion Texas Longhorns.

To read more about the dynasty Wesmen, who join Winnipeg's other volleyball dynasty the 1970-74 men's teams, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.