Skip to Content
Lindberg led Alberta to four straight national titles

Lindberg led Alberta to four straight national titles

Women's volleyball star was two-time CIAU Player of the Year

EDMONTON – Originally from the Czech Republic, Meerka Lindberg came to Canada in 1992, where she soon began a stellar student-athlete career at the University of Alberta.

From 1993 to 1998, Lindberg was the starting setter for Alberta’s women’s volleyball team, helping the Pandas capture four straight CIAU championships (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998) and three Canada West titles in a row, while being named CIAU Player of the Year in 1996 and 1997.

She was announced Wednesday as the latest inductee in the Canada West Hall of Fame, becoming the 97th inductee of the inaugural class.

An offensive dynamo, Lindberg excelled on the biggest stage, winning MVP of the 1995 CIAU championship, and being named a tournament all-star at nationals each year from 1996 through 1998.

After concluding her Pandas career, Lindberg played professional volleyball in Europe and was a member of the Canadian national team from 1998 to 2002.

 To read more about Lindberg's career, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.