Lethbridge's rugby dominance recognized

Lethbridge's rugby dominance recognized

Dynasty Pronghorns teams enter CW Hall of Fame

EDMONTON – One of the greatest dynasties in Canada West history got its due Wednesday, as the Lethbridge Pronghorns rugby teams of 2006 to 2011 entered the CW Hall of Fame.

Over a six-year span, the Pronghorns dominated CW women's rugby, winning conference titles every season between 2006 and 2011.

Led by head coach Neil Langevin, Lethbridge also claimed national gold in three consecutive seasons, topping the nation from 2007 to 2009.

The 'Horns run included a magical hometown victory in 2008, as Lethbridge downed St. FX in the national final in front of more than 1,000 fans.

To read more about the dynasty Pronghorns, including a complete list of student-athletes who were part of the incredible run, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 

VISIT: CanadaWestHallofFame.org


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.