Innovator Cartwright enters CW Hall of Fame

Innovator Cartwright enters CW Hall of Fame

Coach, teacher, and administrator helped advance women in sport

EDMONTON – A pioneer for women in sport at the University of Saskatchewan, Ethel Mary Cartwright was recognized Wednesday as a Canada West Hall of Famer.

Between 1928 and 1943 women's sports at the U of S flourished, as Cartwright organized the women's physical education department.

She is the second Canada West Hall of Fame inductee with Saskatchewan ties this week after former Huskie football coach and athletic director Val Schneider was inducted on Monday.

Prior to her time in Saskatchewan, Cartwright worked at McGill University in Montreal, where she helped establish women in university sport. While at McGill she organized a women's intercollegiate league, and established the Bronze Baby Trophy in 1921-22, which is still awarded today to the U SPORTS women's basketball champions.

Cartwright's legacy lives on annually at Saskatchewan, as the Ethel Mary Cartwright Trophy is awarded each spring to the university's top female athlete.

For Cartwright's complete biography, please click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.