Howatson helped Trinity Western make history

Howatson helped Trinity Western make history

Men's volleyball star was part of TWU's first CW and CIAU titles

EDMONTON – Josh Howatson's tremendous individual and team success as a volleyball student-athlete at Trinity Western University from 2003 to 2007 was rewarded Wednesday, as Howatson was announced as the latest Canada West Hall of Fame inductee.

The six-foot-six setter earned a host of awards during his career, culminating in 2007 when he became Trinity Western’s first BLG Award winner as the Canadian university male athlete of the year, while also being named national men’s volleyball MVP.

That season he led TWU to their first Canada West conference title, a year after he was part of the team’s first national title.

A two-time CIAU championship tournament all-star, Howatson has a complete set of medals from nationals, having picked up silver in 2005 and bronze in 2007.

A Victoria native, Howatson went on to play internationally for Canada, including at the 2010 World Championships, as well as professionally in France, Spain, Switzerland, and Turkey.

To read more about Howatson's career, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.