FB: 2019 season kicks off Aug. 30

FB: 2019 season kicks off Aug. 30

New Canada West season opens with two Friday night games

EDMONTON – Open your calendars and circle August 30th. 

That date will mark opening night of the 2019 Canada West football season, as the conference unveiled the schedule for the upcoming season on Tuesday. 

Key dates:

  • Friday, August 30: Opening night of the 2019 CW football season, as Saskatchewan vs. Manitoba, and Calgary vs. Alberta kick things off
  • Saturday, August 31: Regina visits UBC to close out opening weekend
  • Friday, September 27: Rematch of last year's Hardy Cup, as Saskatchewan hosts Calgary
  • Friday, October 25: Regina hosts Manitoba at Leibel Field in the first CW regular season game at the Queen City venue (moved from Mosaic Stadium due to NHL's Heritage Classic)
  • Saturday, October 26: A pair of games cap the regular season, with Saskatchewan hosting Alberta, and Calgary welcoming UBC
  • Saturday, November 9: CW champion crowned at the 83rd Hardy Cup is set for

A pair of Friday night games will kick off the new season, as the defending Hardy Cup champion Saskatchewan Huskies travel to Winnipeg to take on the Manitoba Bisons, while the Alberta Golden bears host the Calgary Dinos in Edmonton. The Regina Rams and UBC Thunderbirds open their seasons the following day with a contest in Vancouver. 

Six weeks of conference action are set to unfold before the annual Thanksgiving weekend break (Oct. 12-14), before the regular season eventually culminates on Saturday, Oct. 26. 

The Hardy Cup semifinals are set for Saturday, November 2, while the 83rd Hardy Cup is scheduled for Saturday, November 9.

Once again this season, you can catch conference action weekly on the CW Football Showcase on SaskTel, TELUS, and Bell MTS.

The conference’s 2019 television broadcast schedule will be unveiled in the coming months.

Fans looking to watch gridiron action on Canada West TV – the only home for all 27 CW football games – will be able to buy passes beginning in June when 2019-20 packages go on sale to the public.

2019 CANADA WEST FOOTBALL SCHEDULE 

REGULAR SEASON 

WEEK 1

  • Friday, Aug. 30: SSK @ MAN / 7:00 p.m. CDT / Investors Group Field
  • Friday, Aug. 30: CGY @ ALB / 7:00 p.m. MDT / Foote Field
  • Saturday, Aug. 31: REG @ UBC / 7:00 p.m. PDT / Thunderbird Stadium 

WEEK 2

  • * Friday, Sept. 6: UBC @ SSK / 7:00 p.m. CST / Griffiths Stadium
  • Friday, Sept. 6: ALB @ REG / 7:00 p.m. CST / Mosaic Stadium
  • * Friday, Sept. 6: MAN @ CGY / 5:30 p.m. MDT / McMahon Stadium 

WEEK 3

  • * Friday, Sept. 13: SSK @ REG / 7:00 p.m. CST / Mosaic Stadium
  • Friday, Sept. 13: MAN @ ALB / 7:00 p.m. MDT / Foote Field
  • Saturday, Sept. 14: CGY @ UBC / 3:00 p.m. PDT / Thunderbird Stadium

WEEK 4

  • Friday, Sept. 20: REG @ CGY / 7:00 p.m. MDT / McMahon Stadium
  • * Saturday, Sept. 21: UBC @ MAN / 2:00 p.m. CDT / Investors Group Field
  • * Saturday, Sept. 21: SSK @ ALB / 1:00 p.m. MDT / Foote Field 

WEEK 5

  • Friday, Sept. 27: CGY @ SSK / 7:00 p.m. CST / Griffths Stadium
  • Saturday, Sept. 28: REG @ MAN / 2:00 p.m. CDT / Investors Group Field
  • Saturday, Sept. 28: ALB @ UBC / 3:00 p.m. PDT / Thunderbird Stadium 

WEEK 6

  • Friday, Oct. 4: UBC @ REG / 7:00 p.m. CST / Mosaic Stadium
  • Friday, Oct. 4: MAN @ SSK / 7:00 p.m. CST / Griffiths Stadium
  • Saturday, Oct. 5: ALB @ CGY / 1:00 p.m. MDT / McMahon Stadium

WEEK 7 – BYE

WEEK 8

  • Saturday, Oct. 19: CGY @ MAN / 2:00 p.m. CDT / Investors Group Field
  • Saturday, Oct. 19: SSK @ UBC / 3:00 p.m. PDT / Thunderbird Stadium
  • Saturday, Oct. 19 REG @ ALB / 1:00 p.m. MDT / Foote Field 

WEEK 9

  • Friday, Oct. 25: MAN @ REG / 7:00 p.m. CST / Leibel Field
  • Saturday, Oct. 26: ALB @ SSK / 2:00 p.m. CST / Griffiths Stadium
  • Saturday, Oct. 26: UBC @ CGY / 3:00 p.m. MDT / McMahon Stadium

NOTE: * denotes special event game.

PLAYOFFS

HARDY CUP SEMIS

  • Saturday, Nov. 2: No. 4 @ No. 1 / No. 3 @ No. 2 

83RD HARDY CUP

  • Saturday, Nov. 9: semifinal winners @ highest remaining seed

 

About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.