Calgary cross country king honoured

Calgary cross country king honoured

Peter Butler inducted on eve of CW Cross Country Championships

EDMONTON – He was one of the most dominant runners in conference history.

Now, Peter Butler has raced into the Canada West Hall of Fame on the eve of the sport making its conference return as a standalone championship event.

Butler was announced as the conference's latest Hall of Famer on Friday, as Canada West runners eagerly await the return of the sport's standalone conference championship.

The CW Cross Country Championships are slated for Saturday in Calgary, as the sport will feature its own Canada West event for the first time in nearly three decades. Since the early 1990s, the sport has awarded its conference champions based on results at the national meet.

During his CW career, which spanned 1978-80, Butler topped the conference each season. He also captured national gold in 1978 and 1979.

Internationally Butler experienced success as well, competing at the 1983 IAAF World Championships in Helsinki, Finland where he finished 11th in the 10,000-metre.

To read more about his Hall of Fame career, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.