Skip to Content
'Decade of Dominance' enters Hall of Fame

'Decade of Dominance' enters Hall of Fame

UBC swim teams won 10 consecutive national titles

VANCOUVER – A decade the likes of which will likely never be replicated in Canadian university sport, the UBC Thunderbirds swim teams from 1998 to 2007 earned the moniker ‘Decade of Dominance.’

For 10 consecutive seasons no teams were better in men’s and women’s university swimming, as UBC won titles every time they hit the pool at nationals.

UBC's men's and women's swim teams were jointly inducted Tuesday into the Canada West Hall of Fame.


Led by the likes of Brian Johns and Kelly Stefanyshyn, the T-Birds were unstoppable. The program generated a total of 42 international swimmers over the period, including 13 Olympians.

To learn more about the Canada West Hall of Fame and to see a full list of past inductees, visit


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.