CW Announces Scheduling Format Changes for 2024-25 Season

CW members approve new schedule formats for multiple sports

Oct. 12, 2023 – Canada West Universities Athletic Association members have approved scheduling format changes for multiple sports that will take effect starting in the 2024-25 season.

Scheduling format changes were approved in basketball, hockey, volleyball and women’s soccer, with the changes allowing for an increased emphasis on regional rivalries.

The following schedule format changes will be implemented for the 2024-25 Canada West season:

Men’s and Women’s Basketball

• Two divisions with a 20-game schedule with increased focus on regional rivalries

• 12-team single elimination playoff format

Men’s and Women’s Hockey

• Two divisions consisting of four and five teams each that will rotate through nine teams over six years

• Games will be played both in and out of division

• Playoff format will feature a six-team cross over

Men’s and Women’s Volleyball

• One division with a 20-game schedule

• Each school has four annual opponents they will play each season and will rotate through the remaining teams

• Men’s teams will play six of eight opponents each year; women’s teams will play six of nine opponents each year

• Further discussion on the 2024-25 volleyball playoff format will be held in early 2024

Women’s Soccer

• Two divisions with a 14-game schedule within each division

• Eight-team single elimination playoff format

Men’s Soccer

• The current 2023 men's soccer playoff format, which sees the CW quarter-finals and semi-finals take place during Playoff Week 1 and the CW final take place during Playoff Week 2, was approved moving forward.


Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.