Conference hardware handed out

Conference hardware handed out

Victoria claims field hockey banner; Calgary, UBC claim cross country titles

EDMONTON – It was a busy weekend around the conference in terms of championship hardware, as a trio of Canada West champions were crowned, along with major award winners.

On the West Coast the Victoria Vikes secured a 21st conference women's field hockey title, as their 1-0 win Saturday clinched the Canada West crown and a shot at the U SPORTS national title. The Vikes will take on the OUA champion Guelph Gryphons beginning this Friday in a best-of-three series.

With the 2019 CW field hockey season coming to a close, the conference also unveiled its major award winners and all-stars. UBC's Sara Goodman highlighted the winners, as she was named Player of the Year.

To read more about Goodman and the rest of the field hockey award winners, click here for the full release.


Story image

It likely wasn't the weather everyone was hoping for as cross country made its return as a standalone Canada West event, but that didn't take away from the championship feel Saturday at Canmore Park in Calgary.

For the first time since 1993 CW hosted its own cross country championships, as conference team and individual champions were crowned. From 1994 to 2018 results from the national championship meet were used to determine CW champions.

Story image

Taking home team honours were the host Calgary Dinos on the men's side, while the UBC Thunderbirds claimed the women's banner.

Both teams were powered by the conference individual gold medalists, as Stefan Daniel claimed top spot for the Dinos men's team, and UBC's Nicola Symonds topped the women's podium.

For a complete look at the results, along with award winners, click here.

About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.