Burchuk built women's volleyball dynasty at Winnipeg

Burchuk built women's volleyball dynasty at Winnipeg

Former coach named latest Canada West Hall of Famer

EDMONTON – Mike Burchuk was the architect of one of the greatest teams in Canadian university sports history, building a women’s volleyball dynasty at the University of Winnipeg.

The accomplished coach was named Friday as the latest inductee in the Canada West Hall of Fame.

Burchuk coached the Wesmen during the 1980s, overseeing six consecutive national championships from 1983 to 1988. Between 1987 and 1989 the Wesmen won 123 straight matches, a mark unmatched in Canadian university volleyball.

During his nine seasons at the U of W, Burchuk was named CIAU Coach of the Year four times, including three years in a row from 1981 to 1983.

Beginning as an assistant coach in 1980 on the junior national team, Burchuk coached extensively with Volleyball Canada's women’s programs over the years. He was an assistant at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics and served as head coach at the 1996 Games in Atlanta.

To read more about his career, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 

VISIT: CanadaWestHallofFame.org 

About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.