BB: 2018-19 seasons opens tonight

BB: 2018-19 seasons opens tonight

EDMONTON – The 2018-19 Canada West men's and women's basketball seasons officially begin tonight, as Alberta and MacEwan open the conference regular season in Edmonton.

The defending conference and U SPORTS champion Calgary Dinos kick off their men's title defence tomorrow, as do the reigning CW women's champions, the Regina Cougars. The Dinos and Cougars will square off in men's and women's action Friday in the Stampede City on the first full night of CW action.

You can watch every regular season and playoff game all season long by tuning into Canada West TV. Basketball season passes are now available, and can be purchased here.

Below is a look at the opening week matchups, along with a link to previews of every CW men's and women's team.


THU., OCT. 25 MacEwan Alberta
FRI., OCT. 26 Victoria Winnipeg
  Manitoba Brandon
  Regina Calgary
  UNBC Mount Royal
  Thompson Rivers Fraser Valley
  UBC Okanagan Trinity Western
  Saskatchewan UBC
SAT., OCT. 27 Alberta MacEwan
  Manitoba Brandon
  UNBC Mount Royal
  Regina Calgary
  Victoria Winnipeg
  UBC Okanagan Trinity Western
  Saskatchewan UBC
  Thompson Rivers UFV

NOTES: All games are available live and on demand on Canada West TV. For men's game times click here, and for women's here.



Click the links above to access team-by-team previews for:

  • Alberta Golden Bears (men's) / Pandas (women's)
  • Brandon Bobcats
  • UBC Thunderbirds
  • UBC Okanagan Heat
  • Calgary Dinos
  • Fraser Valley Cascades
  • Lethbridge Pronghorns
  • MacEwan Griffins
  • Manitoba Bisons
  • Mount Royal Cougars
  • UNBC Timberwolves
  • Regina Cougars
  • Saskatchewan Huskies
  • Thompson Rivers WolfPack
  • Trinity Western Spartans
  • Victoria Vikes
  • Winnipeg Wesmen


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.