Academic and athletic pioneer Hardy honoured

Academic and athletic pioneer Hardy honoured

Former UofA hockey coach and IIHF president enters CW Hall of Fame

EDMONTON – Of the many outstanding individuals to teach and provide academic leadership at the University of Alberta, Dr. W. George Hardy stands out as a true renaissance man who was both a sports visionary and classic scholar.

The former Golden Bears hockey coach and president of the International Ice Hockey Federation was inducted Friday into the Canada West Hall of Fame as a builder.

Hardy coached Golden Bears hockey from 1922 to 1926 and away from the rink, he worked in the university’s classics department from 1920 to 64, serving 26 years as department head.

Beyond the university, Hardy was highly influential in both Canadian and international hockey.

He was president of the Alberta Amateur Hockey Association, and Canadian Amateur Hockey Association. From 1940-47 he served as president of the International Ice Hockey Association and from 1948 to 1951 he was president of the newly formed International Ice Hockey Federation.

To read more about his Hall of Fame career, click here.


For the last century, organized university sport has been a central part of the student experience at institutions across Western Canada. Beginning with the University of Manitoba capturing the first Western Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (WCIAU) men's hockey banner in 1919-20, student-athletes have been competing to reach their full potential in sport and the classroom, while enriching campus life. 

To commemorate 100 years of university sport across Western Canada, the Canada West Hall of Fame was created in the spring of 2019, with the first induction class set to be unveiled throughout the 2019-20 season. 


About Canada West

Since 1972, Canada West (CW) has been a leader in Canadian university sport, working to provide our student-athletes the opportunities to excel in sport, the classroom, and their communities. CW and our 17 members from across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba collectively carry on a legacy of competitive excellence, as our champions proudly go on to represent the conference at U SPORTS national championships.

Canada West – training leaders, building champions.